SDL Maidenhead and Sheffield cycle Palace to Palace to support the Prince’s Trust

SDL, through the SDL Foundation, has been a keen supporter of the Prince’s Trust for many years and one of the ways we support it is by asking SDL colleagues, friends and family to donate money to support us cycling in the annual Palace to Palace ride from Buckingham Palace to Windsor Castle, a distance of 45 miles (72 km).

This year, a team of 18 from SDL offices in Sheffield and Maidenhead came together early on a cold, but sunny Sunday morning on the Mall leading up to Buckingham Palace in London.


Led by our CEO, Adolfo Hernandez and supported by Chairman, David Clayton, we pedalled our way out of London along the Embankment, through Chelsea and Fulham, crossing the Thames over Putney Bridge and then on to Richmond Park, where we regrouped at the first water station.

From there, we rode along roads taking us past Kingston upon Thames, Hampton Court, Kempton Park Racecourse and our second water station near Walton-on-Thames. As well as water, volunteers were handing out bananas, which the team took advantage of before tackling the next section of the route, probably the most challenging for most of us as it included a few steep hills.

By the time the tail-enders reached the final water station, 10 miles from Windsor, it was clear who the fittest members of the team were, with Chris and Xenia already at the finish in a little over 3 hours and Adolfo and Jen not far behind.

There was a great welcome for all riders as they crossed the finish line at Windsor Racecourse in the autumn sunshine, where photos were taken, medals handed out and lunch provided for everyone.

At the time of writing, the team has raised £3,800 for the Prince’s Trust.

You can still contribute to this total by clicking this link. Let’s see how much we can raise together! Well done to everyone who took part this year, who were:

Adolfo Hernandez, Alastair Muirhead, Andrew Chapman, Athina Sotiriadi, Bojan Ambrus, Chris Burkimsher, Clementine Tissier, David Clayton, Dusan Halamka, Jen Andersen, Jo Harris, Marleen Dekker-Hansum, Meika Hart, Patrice Tissier, Sandra Koch, Thomas Labarthe, Valeria Gasparini, Xenia Walters